Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Harapan retain conventional seats


MELAKA: Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Harapan have clinched their conventional seats within the Melaka polls, with Perikatan Nasional making “little inroads”.

Barisan gained Tanjung Bidara, Ayer Limau, Lendu, Rembia, Durian Tunggal and Asahan.

The coalition additionally managed to retain Taboh Naning, Serkam, Merlimau and Kuala Linggi.

Different notable Barisan victories had been the Machap Jaya and Kelebang seats, which had been gained by MCA, together with the surprising Gadek seat by MIC.

Pakatan additionally managed to defend its conventional strongholds together with Bandar Hilir, Kota Laksamana, Ayer Keroh and Bukit Katil.

In the meantime, Perikatan solely managed to win two seats – Bemban and Sungai Udang.

There have been no straight fights with Barisan, Pakatan and Perikatan fielding candidates in all 28 seats.

Additionally contesting had been 22 Unbiased candidates.

Worldwide Islamic College Malaysia authorized adviser and political analyst Prof Dr Nik Ahmad Kamal Nik Mahmod mentioned the outcomes confirmed a repeat of the 14th Basic Election, with Barisan sustaining the seats that they historically gained.

“Nonetheless, Perikatan appears to have made inroads in just a few seats,” he mentioned.

On the PAS alliance with Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia below the Perikatan banner, he mentioned there was unhappiness among the many Islamist social gathering’s grassroots for not utilizing its personal emblem in the course of the election.

Universiti Sains Malaysia political analyst Prof Dr Sivamurugan Pandian mentioned as anticipated, Barisan nonetheless largely controls the agricultural seats.

Source link