Cameroon 0-0 Egypt (1-3 pens): Mohamed Salah’s side into Afcon final


Goalkeeper Gabaski was the hero, saving two penalties as Egypt edged previous hosts Cameroon in a penalty shootout after a goalless draw to arrange an Africa Cup of Nations final in opposition to Senegal.

Sunday’s final units up a tantalising assembly between Liverpool forwards Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane on the identical venue – the Olembe Stadium in Cameroon’s capital Yaounde (kick-off 19:00 GMT).

Hosts Cameroon had proven extra impetus in 90 minutes, twice hitting the publish by way of Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui’s looping header and Samuel Gouet’s thunderous long-range strike, which flicked the woodwork.

Egypt’s star man Salah was stored quiet for a lot of the sport, curling a strike from exterior the world narrowly over and virtually making the most of a free again cross, however he couldn’t convert.

But he didn’t need to step up within the shootout as Cameroon missed three of their efforts, with Gabaski saving from Harold Moukoudi and James Lea Siliki, whereas Clinton N’Jie side-footed broad.

An ill-tempered ending to regular time had seen Egypt coach Carlos Queiroz despatched off for remonstrating with the referee and his assistant Wael Gomaa cautioned too.

It means they may each be lacking from the touchline for the final as Gomaa was additionally yellow carded within the quarter-final in opposition to Morocco.

Meanwhile, Cameroon will face Burkina Faso within the third/fourth-place play-off, which has been introduced ahead a day to Saturday (19:00 GMT).

More to observe.



Formation 3-4-3

  • 24Onana
  • 21CastellettoSubstituted forMoukoudiat 99′minutes
  • 5Ngadeu
  • 25Tolo
  • 19Fai
  • 8Zambo Anguissa
  • 14Oum GouetBooked at 61minsSubstituted forLéa Silikiat 80′minutes
  • 18HonglaSubstituted forOnanaat 108′minutes
  • 3Moumi NgamaleuSubstituted forN’Jieat 86′minutes
  • 10Aboubakar
  • 12Toko EkambiSubstituted forBassogogat 98′minutes


  • 4Moukoudi
  • 6Oyongo
  • 7N’Jie
  • 9Bahoken
  • 11Bassogog
  • 13Choupo-Moting
  • 15Kunde
  • 16Epassy
  • 20Ganago
  • 23Omossola
  • 26Onana
  • 27Léa Siliki


Formation 4-3-3

  • 16Abou Gabal Ali
  • 3Abdel WahedBooked at 37minsSubstituted forAbdelghanyat 85′minutes
  • 2Abdelmonem Elsayed Mohamed Ahmed
  • 15Hamdi
  • 13Mohamed
  • 17ElnenyBooked at 61minsSubstituted forAhmed Abdelmonemat 86′minutes
  • 5Abdul Fattah
  • 4El SoleyaSubstituted forTrézéguetat 45′minutes
  • 10Salah
  • 14Ahmed AbdallahSubstituted forMohamed Ragaei Bakrat 105′minutesSubstituted forSayedat 118′minutes
  • 22MarmoushSubstituted forSobhiat 63′minutes


  • 7Trézéguet
  • 8Abdelghany
  • 9Mohamed Ragaei Bakr
  • 11Sobhi
  • 12Ashraf
  • 18Ahmed Abdelmonem
  • 19Bekhit
  • 20Eldin Mahmoud Ibrahim
  • 21Sayed
  • 23Daader
  • 24Ahmed
  • 28Mehany

Live Text

Source link