Cricket: Cricket-ICC publicizes 14 hosts for white-ball tournaments from 2024-2031


(Reuters) – The Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday introduced host nations for the upcoming One-Day Worldwide (ODI) World Cups, Twenty20 World Cups and Champions Trophy tournaments from 2024 to 2031.

Australia, Bangladesh, England, Eire, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe have all been named as hosts, whereas america and Namibia are set to stage an ICC occasion for the primary time.

Pakistan will stage an ICC occasion for the primary time because it co-hosted the 1996 ODI World Cup together with India and Sri Lanka.

“To have 14 members internet hosting eight occasions is a mirrored image of the actually world nature of our sport and I would wish to thank each member that submitted a bid and supply our congratulations to the profitable bidders,” ICC Chair Greg Barclay stated in a press release.

“It is incredible to be returning to so many earlier hosts, however what is actually thrilling about this course of is the international locations who will stage ICC occasions for the primary time together with the USA which is a strategic development marketplace for us.

“This provides us the chance to deepen our reference to followers in conventional cricket nations and in addition attain new followers all over the world.”

The ICC added {that a} comparable course of can be in place subsequent yr to establish hosts for ladies’s and Beneath-19s occasions for the subsequent cycle.


T20 World Cup

2024: U.S. and West Indies

2026: India and Sri Lanka

2028: Australia and New Zealand

2030: England, Eire and Scotland

ODI World Cup

2027: South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia

2031: India and Bangladesh

Champions Trophy

2025: Pakistan

2029: India

(Reporting by Rohith Nair in Bengaluru; Modifying by Shrivathsa Sridhar)

Source link