Cricket: Cricket-India win toss and bat but are without skipper Kohli


JOHANNESBURG (Reuters) – India stand-in captain KL Rahul gained the toss and elected to bat on the opening day of the second check in opposition to South Africa on the Wanderers on Monday, seeking to make the most of a wicket anticipated to initially favour the batsmen.

Rahul captains the facet instead of Virat Kohli, who has suffered an higher again spasm and sits out in a shock setback for the vacationers.

“It’s a dream to captain your country, so I’m looking forward to the challenge,” stated Rahul, who was one of many high performers in India’s 113-run victory in final week’s first check at Pretoria.

“We’ve had a few good wins here at the Wanderers and will want to continue that,” he added. India are unbeaten in 5 earlier assessments on the Wanderers, with two victories and three attracts.

Kohli is changed by the 28-year-old Hanuma Vihari in India’s solely change. Vihari is predicted to bat at No. 5 in his thirteenth check but first since taking part in in opposition to Australia in Sydney one 12 months in the past.

Hosts South Africa are without wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, who introduced his retirement from check cricket instantly after the loss to India within the first check.

De Kock, 29, was scheduled to overlook the final two check of the three-match sequence anyway due to the approaching delivery of his first baby.

Kyle Verreyne replaces De Kock whereas Duanne Olivier has been picked over Wiaan Mulder within the different change for the house facet.

The 29-year-old Olivier exploded on to the check scene in 2017 and took 48 wickets in 10 assessments at a mean under 20, but then took up a Kolpak contract with English county Yorkshire that meant he was misplaced to South African cricket.

But after returning house when the Kolpak system fell away because of the United Kingdom’s exit from the European Union, Olivier completed the highest wicket-taker within the home four-day competitors and has gained again a check place.


South Africa: Dean Elgar (capt.), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Verreyne, Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi

India: KL Rahul (capt.), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

(Editing by Simon Cameron-Moore)

Source link