Cricket: Cricket-KL Rahul to lead India in S.Africa ODI series with Rohit unfit


(Reuters) – India opener KL Rahul has been named captain for the three-match one-day worldwide (ODI) series in South Africa with newly appointed skipper Rohit Sharma nonetheless unavailable due to harm, selectors stated on Friday.

Rohit, who changed Virat Kohli as India’s white-ball skipper earlier this month, picked up a hamstring harm throughout a coaching session in Mumbai forward of the South Africa tour.

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah might be vice-captain for the series.

Kohli, who relinquished the Twenty20 captaincy, was eliminated as India’s ODI skipper as effectively as a result of the selectors didn’t need to have two totally different white-ball captains.

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami has been rested whereas Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja stay unfit.

The ODI series begins on Jan. 19 after the check series in which India lead 1-0. The second check begins on Jan. 3.


KL Rahul (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

(Reporting by Rohith Nair in Bengaluru; Editing by Ken Ferris)

Source link