Cricket: Cricket-Pollard back in Windies white-ball squads for Ireland, England


(Reuters) – West Indies’ white-ball captain Kieron Pollard will return to the squad for their upcoming collection towards Ireland and England, the nationwide cricket board (CWI) mentioned on Friday.

Pollard was dominated out of the aspect’s tour of Pakistan this month after failing to get well from a hamstring harm suffered through the Twenty20 World Cup. That tour was later minimize brief following COVID-19 instances in the West Indies camp.

West Indies are scheduled to play Ireland in three one-day internationals beginning on Jan. 8 in Jamaica and a one-off Twenty20 match on Jan. 16 earlier than travelling to Barbados to face England in 5 T20 matches from Jan. 22-30.

“We have tried to take care of the overall make-up of the squads from the Pakistan tour earlier than Christmas, with the captain and a few senior gamers coming back in,” mentioned head coach Phil Simmons.

“COVID-19 has additionally performed an element in the ultimate make-up of the squad. The challenges in the following couple (of) months are getting the younger gamers in each squads to not solely enhance on their abilities however keep the perspective and need we noticed in Pakistan.”

The board mentioned that all-rounder Fabian Allen has recovered from an ankle harm however shall be unavailable for the Ireland collection after testing optimistic for COVID-19.

Fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell and all-rounders Roston Chase and Kyle Mayers, all of whom missed the Pakistan tour because of COVID-19, have been additionally included in the squads to face Ireland and England.

ODI squad to face Ireland: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (vice captain), Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas.

T20 squad to face Ireland and England: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice captain), Fabian Allen (England T20Is solely), Darren Bravo (England T20Is solely), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akel Hosein, Jason Holder, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

(Reporting by Manasi Pathak in Bengaluru, Editing by Timothy Heritage)

Source link