European Union suspends Russia and Belarus from Council of Baltic Sea States


PARIS (Reuters) – The European Union stated it had joined members of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) in suspending Russia and Belarus from the Council’s actions.

“This resolution is a component of the European Union’s and like-minded companions response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and the involvement of Belarus on this unprovoked and unjustified aggression,” it stated on Saturday.

“The EU agrees with the opposite members of the CBSS (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland and Sweden) that the suspension of Russia and Belarus will stay in power till it’s attainable to renew cooperation primarily based on respect for basic rules of worldwide regulation,” it added.

(Reporting by Sudip Kar-Gupta, Editing by Louise Heavens)

Source link