Football: FACTBOX-Soccer-Profile on Nigeria team for 2021 Africa Cup of Nations


YAOUNDE (Reuters) – Factbox on Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers Nigeria.

Africa Cup of Nations document

Previous appearances in finals: (18) 1963, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2013, 2019

Best efficiency: Winners 1980, 1994, 2013

Drawn in Group D with Egypt, Guinea Bissau and Sudan.

Coach: Augustine Eguavoen

The former World Cup defender will function Nigeria’s coach solely for the match in Cameroon after final month’s shock firing of Gernot Rohr.

He is the technical director of the Nigerian Football Federation and takes over the nationwide team earlier than the arrival of new coach Jose Peseiro, who will even be on the match however to watch solely.

The 56-year-old Eguavoen had a short earlier spell as Nigeria caretaker coach in 2010.

Key participant: Kelechi Iheanacho

Age: 25


The Leicester City striker has been thrust into the lead function for his nation in Cameroon after Watford refused to launch Emmanuel Dennis and Napoli aim ace Victor Osimhen was dominated out with COVID-19.

Iheanacho missed out on the final Cup of Nations finals however did play for Nigeria on the final World Cup and was additionally a daily within the 2022 qualifiers performed between September and November, the place Nigeria completed high of their group.

He additionally scored 12 Premier League objectives and received the FA Cup along with his membership final season.

FIFA world rating Dec. 2021: 36

How they certified: Top positioned team in Group L, forward of Sierra Leone, Benin and Lesotho.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs), John Noble (Enyimba), Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam), Francis Uzoho (Omonia Nicosia)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino), Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion), Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor), Jamilu Collins (Paderborn), Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia), Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes), Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto), William Troost Ekong (Watford)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers), Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow), Alex Iwobi (Everton), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Kelechi Nwakali (Huesca), Frank Onyeka (Brentford)

Forwards: Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal), Odion Ighalo (Al Shabab), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk), Peter Olayinka (Slavia Prague), Henry Onyekuru (Olympiakos), Moses Simon (Nantes), Sadiq Umar (Almeria).

(Compiled by Mark Gleeson; Editing by Christian Radnedge)

Source link