Mandatory quarantine again for all returnees – director


KOTA KINABALU: The State Government has decided to reimpose mandatory quarantine on all returning Sabahans at gazetted centres following the recent surge in the number of Covid-19 cases in Sabah.

The returnees will be quarantined for 14 days, starting from the date of arrival, said Sabah Health Department Director Datuk Dr Christina Rundi in a statement issued here yesterday.

On May 12, two more individuals in Tawau were caught flouting their home quarantine order and were admitted to a quarantine centre until the quarantine period is up.

While at the quarantine centre, health and medical officers would carry out assessments whether individuals were able to carry out the remainder of their quarantine at home, she said.

Those allowed to undergo home quarantine are required to strictly adhere to the order and that they can call the CPRC of the Health Department at 088-219455 or email at  [email protected]  for more information.

Out of all the districts in Sabah, only 10 still have active Covid-19 cases. They are Tawau (4), Kota Kinabalu (6), Lahad Datu  (5), Tuaran  (1), Kinabatangan (2), Keningau (7), Penampang  (2), Kunak  (1), Semporna  (4) and  Ranau  (1).

There are 33 active cases in Sabah.