MMC to suspend all temporary registration certificates for medical degrees that show discrepancies


PETALING JAYA: The Malaysian Medical Council (MMC) will suspend all applications for Temporary Registration Certificates for graduates holding basic medical degrees that show discrepancies in the institution or qualification’s name.

The council said it has identified a group of local and foreign institutions which were found to have differences in the name of the qualification and/or the name of the institution on the basic medical degree scroll from those gazetted in the Second Schedule of the Medical Act 1971 (Amendment 2012).

“The purpose for the detection and suspension is so that there will be no issues arising in the future if the medical practitioner wants to apply for registration with MMC, for example the application for Full Registration and Specialist Registration,” it said in a statement on Thursday (June 17).

MMC said that it had written to the Health Ministry’s legal adviser.

It added that in a letter from the legal adviser dated June 14, 2021, the council can register the medical practitioner under two conditions.

It added that the conditions are that the discrepancy in the name of the qualification and/or the name of the institution is due to an editorial error and is not substantive.

This means that it will not affect or cause confusion in identifying the institution and the qualification.

“Then, the MMC can implement the registration under Section 12 of the Medical Act 1971 (Amendment 2012) while waiting for the editorial error to be amended and gazetted,” it added.

The MMC added that based on this recommendation, it will allow the Temporary Registration process to continue immediately for graduates from 36 institutions from nine countries that have been identified showing editorial error.

“At the same time a process of correction and gazetting will be carried out,” it added.

Among the 36 institutions are the International Islamic University Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi Mara, Universitas Gajah Mada, Indonesia, Volgograd State Medical University, Russia, Medical University of Lodz, Poland, University Of Manchester, United Kingdom, and University of Kharthoum, Sudan.

The MMC assured that any medical practitioners from these institutions who had already registered with the council before the correction and gazetting were done are legally registered medical practitioners.

It also said graduates from the 36 institutions can submit their Temporary Registration applications from June 17, 2021, through the Medical Register Information and Technical System (MeRITS).

The full statement and list of institutions can be found at

Source link