Mukah, Sarikei, Sibu, Limbang 14 days virus free


KUCHING: As of today, four divisions have been categorised as green zones in the state.

Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said the divisions categorised from yellow to green zones are Mukah, Sarikei, Sibu and Limbang.

“According to the medical definition, any area that does not have any positive cases within the last 14 days is categorised as a green zone,” he said at the daily Covid-19 press conference yesterday.

Uggah who is also the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman, said it cannot be predicted yet as to when other areas can be categorised as green zones.

“You cannot really predict it, but we will look at the historical record of these areas. Indeed we want all areas to be green zones,” he said.

He said this is why the people must continue to comply with the movement control order (MCO) in order to curb the spread of Covid-19.

To a question on which cluster — church conference cluster, Sri Petaling mosque tabligh cluster, and Italy trip cluster — is a worrying case in the state, Uggah said all of these clusters need to be kept an eye on.

“Even though we see the pattern of Covid-19 positive cases reduce for all these clusters, what we are worried about now are the sporadic clusters and ones that have yet to be identified,” he said.

On Sarawakian students that wish to go back to their hometowns within the green zones, Uggah said the state government will issue the standard operating procedure (SOP) today (April 25).

On another note, Uggah assured that Sarawakians who lost their jobs during the MCO will receive the Sarawakku Sayang Special Assistance Package as they are under the B40 group.