Rugby: Rugby-One change for Wales for second test against Springboks


BLOEMFONTEIN, South Africa (Reuters) – Alex Cuthbert’s inclusion on the wing is the one change for Wales for their second test against South Africa on Saturday, in distinction to the house aspect who made 14 adjustments to their beginning line-up for the conflict in Bloemfontein.

Cuthbert is available in for Josh Adams, who’s dropped to the bench after Wales misplaced 32-29 in a heart-breaking last-gasp defeat in final weekend’s first test in Pretoria.

Front rower Sam Wainwright may very well be in line to make his test debut from the bench as he’s considered one of three adjustments among the many replacements.

He is available in for Tomas Francis, who was despatched dwelling after struggling concussion some 30 seconds after approaching as a substitute within the first test.

Wyn Jones replaces Rhys Carre and Adams takes the place of Owen Watkin.

“Alex Cuthbert has been coaching rather well. He’s six foot 4, good within the air and runs all day. I feel there will likely be loads of aerial battles,” stated Wales coach Wayne Pivac on Thursday.

“Sam Wainwright has been very excited to affix us. From day one he’s been coaching rather well. I do know he’s over the moon at his choice within the match-day 23 and his household are over right here so he’s trying ahead to an enormous day.”

South Africa have been criticised for the wholesale adjustments to their staff, which they named on Tuesday. The experimentation by the Springboks was deemed “disrespectful” by Welsh nice Gareth Edwards earlier this week.

“It hasn’t modified our preparation in any respect,” stated Pivac. “It’s going to be 15 rugby gamers in inexperienced shirts. We’re anticipating extra of the identical. They are a really skilled staff it doesn’t matter what mixtures they put out. This aspect is one to be revered and never taken evenly.”


15. Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 79 caps)

14. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 17 caps)

13. George North (Ospreys – 103 caps)

12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 21 caps)

11. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 51 caps)

10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 101 caps), captain

9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 12 caps)

1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 11 caps)

2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 28 caps)

3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)

4. Will Rowlands (Dragons – 19 caps)

5. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 35 caps)

6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 66 caps)

7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 1 cap)

8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 90 caps)


16. Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 6 caps)

17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 43 caps)

18. Sam Wainwright (Saracens – uncapped)

19. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 151 caps)

20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 31 caps)

21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 34 caps)

22. Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 31 caps)

23. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)

(Writing by Mark Gleeson in Cape Town; Editing by Clare Fallon)

Source link