Sarawak’s new Cabinet sworn in on Tuesday (Jan 4)


KUCHING: Sarawak’s new state Cabinet was sworn in on Tuesday evening (Jan 4), two and a half weeks after Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) received the twelfth state election.

Led by three deputy chief ministers, the Cabinet members took their oath of workplace in entrance of Sarawak Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud on the Sarawak Legislative Assembly complicated right here.

The Deputy Chief Ministers are Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah, who can also be Second Minister for Finance and New Economy, and Infrastructure and Port Development Minister; Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, who can also be Second Minister for Natural Resources and Urban Development, and International Trade and Investment Minister; and Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian, who additionally helms the Public Health, Housing and Local Government Ministry.

Uggah and Awang Tengah additionally served as deputy chief ministers in the earlier state Cabinet, whereas Dr Sim was appointed deputy chief minister after the Dec 18 polls.

Seven different ministers and 26 assistant ministers have been additionally sworn in on the ceremony.

The Cabinet line-up was introduced by Chief Minister Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg final Thursday (Dec 30), with 12 new faces among the many assistant ministers.

Abang Johari was sworn in as Chief Minister on Dec 18 instantly after GPS’s election victory.

GPS, which contains Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP), received 76 of the 82 state seats in the election.

Source link