Senators voice support for Parliament to reconvene


KUALA LUMPUR: Some 19 members of the Dewan Negara have given their full support for the resumption of parliamentary proceedings.

In a joint statement on Monday (June 21), the senators pledged support for the statement issued earlier by Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Dr Rais Yatim.

Rais earlier stressed that Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Mustafa Billah Shah possessed the authority to recall parliamentary members for proceedings during the state of emergency.

The members of the Dewan Negara said they support the statement by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Malay Rulers that the country needs to avoid failure in handling and managing the Covid-19 pandemic alongside economic and social issues.

“We wish to stress the importance of political stability and the need for a mandated government to effectively combat the Covid-19 pandemic.

“Parliament needs to resume its functions immediately as a check and balance platform as well as to check the course of government administration.

“It is crucial as a platform to debate ordinances, the National Recovery Plan and all government allocations to aid the people in a fair and holistic manner.

“As such, we are consistent in stressing that any decisions regarding the handling of political crises, health and the country’s economy should be made at Parliament as it is the highest institution of democracy representing the people’s voices.

“Parliament and the state assemblies are where people’s rights and voices need to be heard clearly and constructively,” they said.

The statement was signed by Senators Raj Munni Sabu, Liew Chin Tong, Datuk Theodore Doughlas, Ismail Yusop, Dr Yaakob Sapar, Datuk Wira Marzuki Yahaya, Datuk Donald Peter Mojuntin, Datuk Raja Kamarul Bahrin Shah Raja Ahmad Baharuddin Shah, Datuk Husam Musa, Mohd Yusmadi Mohd Yusoff, Manolan Mohamad, Laksamana (B) Mohd Imran Abdul Hamid, Dr Ahmad Azam Hamzah, Lim Hui Ying, Nga Hock Cheh, Alan Ling Sie Kiong, Adrian Banie Lasimbang, Kesavadas Achyuthan Nair and Suresh Singh.

Source link