Tennis: Tennis-Czech Republic, Poland and U.S. drawn in BJK Cup ‘Group of Death’


(Reuters) – Former champions Czech Republic and United States have been pooled alongside Poland in the proverbial “Group of Death” for the 2022 Billie Jean King Cup Finals, organisers introduced on Friday.

The 12-team match will likely be held in Glasgow from Nov. 8-13.

Top seeds Switzerland, who completed runners-up final 12 months, have been drawn with Canada and Italy, whereas seven-times winners Australia will battle it out with Slovakia and Belgium.

Hosts Britain, Spain and Kazakhstan make up the fourth group for the occasion, which is able to see the 4 winners from every group progress to the semi-finals.

Defending champions Russia is not going to function in this 12 months’s Finals after the International Tennis Federation banned them from staff competitions over the nation’s invasion of Ukraine, which Moscow calls a “particular army operation”.

Russian gamers have been additionally barred from this 12 months’s Wimbledon however have been allowed to compete in different tournaments underneath a impartial flag.

Group A: Switzerland, Canada, Italy

Group B: Australia, Slovakia, Belgium

Group C: Spain, Kazakhstan, Britain

Group D: Czech Republic, United States, Poland

(Reporting by Dhruv Munjal in Bengaluru)

Source link