Tour de France 2022: Wout van Aert claims victory on stage four


Wout van Aert
Van Aert has now received six levels on the Tour de France – he claimed two victories in 2020, and three final yr

Wout van Aert’s sensational escape within the remaining 10km of stage four gave him his first win at this yr’s Tour de France and prolonged his total lead.

The Belgian had completed second in every of the primary three levels of this yr’s race however this time his plan labored to perfection.

A panoramic assault up the ultimate climb despatched him clear and he held on within the closing kilometres into Calais.

Van Aert strikes 25 seconds clear within the General Classification.

Behind him, Jasper Philipsen received a bunch dash to the road and raised his arms considering he had received the stage, illustrating the chaotic nature of the end.

That was all all the way down to Van Aert’s assault, with a cross tailwind serving to to separate the pack as they tried to stick with him.

Van Aert had been denied a stage win by a photograph end in a bunch dash because the Tour left Denmark on Sunday, however marked the primary day of racing in France with a memorable triumph.

“I did not wish to take the danger anymore,” he mentioned afterwards in regards to the transfer by his Jumbo-Visma staff on the best way up up Cote du Cap Blanc Nez.

“It was fairly apparent that we had been attempting one thing with the staff,” he defined.

“We had been in an ideal place because of Nathan (van Hooydonck) and Stevie (Kruijswijk), then Nathan opened up on the climb, Tiesj (Benoot) took over and we heard on the radio there was some harm.

“The purpose was to go full to the highest and see what occurred, however then I got here excessive alone.

“I used to be a bit unsure whether or not I ought to anticipate Jonas Vingegaard and Adam Yates behind me, however by going full, I additionally put Jonas and the others in a very good place as a result of they did not must journey.

“So I made a decision to go on alone, after which it was 10km of all-out struggling.”

Last yr’s winner, Tadej Pogacar, and the opposite main contenders for the General Classification recovered to complete collectively within the group instantly behind Van Aert however, together with the pure sprinters within the race, they had been unable to organise themselves in time to catch him.

The 27-year-old flapped his arms earlier than punching the air in triumph as he crossed the road in yellow, and later defined his celebration by saying “this jersey provides you wings”.

Stage four outcomes

1. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) 4hrs 01min 6secs

2. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/Alpecin-Deceuninck) + 8secs

3. Christophe Laporte (Fra/Jumbo-Visma) Same time

4. Alexander Kristoff (Nor/Intermarche) Same time

5. Peter Sagan (Svk/TotalEnergies) Same time

6. Luca Mozzato (Ita/B&B Hotels) Same time

7. Danny van Poppel (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe) Same time

8. Hugo Hofstetter (Fra/Arkea-Samsic) Same time

9. Michael Matthews (Aus/BikeExchange-Jayco) Same time

10. Benjamin Thomas (Fra/Cofidis) Same time

General classification after stage four

1. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) 13hrs 02mins 43secs

2. Yves Lampaert (Bel/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) +25secs

3. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) +32secs

4. Mads Pedersen (Den/Trek-Segafredo) +36secs

5. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned/Alpecin-Deceuninck) +38secs

6. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo-Visma) +40secs

7. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +41secs

8. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +48secs

9. Stefan Kung (Swi/Groupama – FDJ Same time

10. Tom Pidcock (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +49secs

Selected others:

12. Geraint Thomas (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +50secs

80. Chris Froome (GB/Israel-Premier Tech) +2mins 20secs

Source link