UPM convocation to be held under strict SOP from Jan 8, says vice-chancellor


SERDANG: A complete of 5,695 Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) graduates in varied disciplines will obtain their scrolls on the forty fourth convocation ceremony to be held bodily under strict customary working procedures (SOP).

UPM vice-chancellor Prof Dr Mohd Roslan Sulaiman (pic) mentioned among the many SOP that may be carried out throughout the six-day convocation ceremony, starting on Saturday (Jan 8), was that solely 900 graduates would be allowed into the primary corridor of the Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Arts and Cultural Centre at UPM, which has a seating capability of 4,000.

“We have stipulated that solely graduates are to be allowed into the corridor the place the convocation ceremony would happen, whereas dad and mom or households of scholars can solely ship and decide up the graduates,” he mentioned in a press convention on the convocation ceremony right here Thursday (Jan 6).

“For dad and mom who’ve travelled from afar, UPM will present a number of ready halls for them until their kids’s periods are over. They will be ready to witness the ceremony in these halls through reside streaming,” he mentioned.

Roslan mentioned this was the primary UPM convocation ceremony to be held for the reason that nation was hit by the Covid-19 pandemic in early 2020.

The convocation will contain a complete of 398 recipients of the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD), grasp’s diploma (1,093 recipients), bachelor’s diploma (3,544) and diploma (660).

“To forestall the unfold of Covid-19 an infection throughout the convocation ceremony, UPM will solely maintain the ceremony within the mornings so as to permit time for sanitisation work to be carried out within the night for the subsequent session,” he mentioned.

Roslan mentioned UPM chancellor, the Selangor’s Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, will confer the PhD, grasp’s levels and bachelor’s levels in addition to diplomas to the graduates within the fifth session on Jan 12.

During the session, Sultan Sharafuddin will promulgate the appointment of the Raja Muda of Selangor Tengku Amir Shah Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, Prof Emeritus Datuk Dr Muhamad Zohadie Bardaie, and Prof Emeritus Tan Sri Dr Syed Jalaludin Syed Salim as UPM pro-chancellors for a interval of three years from Oct 18, 2021, to Oct 17, 2024.

Sultan Sharafuddin can even bestow the Chancellor’s Gold Medal Prize on Aini Nazihah [email protected] (Bachelor of Science in Physics with Honours) from the Faculty of Science; Royal Education Award (Bumiputera) to Prince Mohamad Iskandar Jamil (Bachelor of Science in Horticulture) from the Faculty of Agriculture; and the Royal Education Award (Non-Bumiputera) to Chow Heng Yee (Bachelor of Science in Human Development) from the Faculty of Human Ecology.

UPM pro-chancellor Syed Jalaludin will current, within the first session on Saturday (Jan 8), the Alumni Gold Medal to Lim Jia Yie (Bachelor of Environmental Management) from the Faculty of Forestry and Environment; Pak Rashid Foundation Gold Medal to Michelle Tiong Chia Weng (Bachelor of Education – Teaching English as a Second Language), Faculty of Educational Studies; and the Putra Agribio Medal to Muhammad Ali Imran Razali (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

Syed Jalaludin can even current the Razlan Putra Medal to Syed Mohamad Syafiq Syed Cholan (Bachelor of Science in Human Development), Faculty of Human Ecology; Shell Station Operator Entrepreneurship Award to Ijlali Husna Alias (Bachelor of Education in Home Science), Faculty of Educational Studies; Tun Abdul Razak Award to Chow Heng Yee (Bachelor of Science in Human Development), Faculty of Human Ecology.

He will current as nicely the Gold Medal of Doctor of Philosophy Malaysian Vaccines and Pharmaceuticals to Farhatun Najat Maluin (PhD Nanotechnology), Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology; Master Gold Medal With Thesis to Sanchez Philip Donald Cabuga (Master of Science in Agricultural Process Engineering), Faculty of Engineering; BasNet Doctor of Philosophy Gold Medal to Dr Nor Sa’adah Jamaluddin (PhD Curriculum and Instruction), Faculty of Educational Studies; and Syed Kechik Prize to Fatimah Marwa Jaapar (Bachelor of Biochemical Science with Honors), Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Science.

Roslan mentioned the convocation ceremony additionally sees 11 graduates of the inaugural Master of Entrepreneurship programme receiving their scrolls within the first session (on Saturday).

He mentioned among the many athletes who would graduate on the convocation ceremony had been hockey participant Syed Syafiq Syed Cholan; Nur Fatihah Mohammad Tahir (capturing); Mohamed Farhan Hafsyam Zahid (athletics); Priyashankari Hari Sankar (karate); Muhamad Hafzan Bakri Md Roni (rugby); Dzafran Asyraf Zainuddin (rugby) and Muhammad Kamal Ishak (sepak takraw). – Bernama

Source link